Posted by: devonteacherblog | March 19, 2012

Moor reflection

At school we are working on giving the children more ‘reflection’ time. We want them to reflect on their own learning, values and beliefs.

I think my class are pretty good at reflecting on their learning. They use traffic light smiley faces to let me know how easy or difficult they found the piece of work and they are used to peer assessing each others work. They have also learnt to begin to ‘edit’ their writing, checking it for capital letters and full stops and use of ‘wow words’. They also show me a thumbs up or a thumbs down to let me know how they think they did in their group or independent work.

At the beginning of the year we created a display about how to learn so they often refer back to this if they know they need to improve in a particular area.

I had a little reflection time of my own recently on a peaceful walk along the Devon moors. It is such a beautiful place. As you stroll along the picturesque landscape you can’t help but reflect so while I was there I was trying to think of a way in to this ‘reflection’ time with my own class of Key Stage One children. How do you get a six year old child to reflect on their values? We have already created our own RE board about our values and beliefs, using post it notes written by myself and the children, but I want to go further and see if they can truly reflect.

I took some photographs of the beautiful Moors in the hope that I could share my reflection time with the children and model that this is one of my personal values, having time to relax and explore. We could also discuss the importance of freedom and talk about how lucky we are to live in Devon and to be surrounded by these amazing places which we can explore. The children enjoy looking at natural photographs like these and I think it creates a calming atmosphere in order for the children to reflect.

Here are some wonderful quotes by Dr Seuss which I aim to share with the children over the next few weeks. They are perfect for teaching the children to be themselves and be proud of who they are and this should encourage their reflection. I am going to write them on the board in the morning so they can reflect with their friends as they come in to school.

“Be who you are and say what you feel,
because those who mind don’t matter,
and those who matter don’t mind.”

“Think and wonder, wonder and think.”

“Today is your day, your mountain is waiting. So get on your way.”

“You are you. Now, isn’t that pleasant?”

“When you think things are bad,
when you feel sour and blue,
when you start to get mad…
you should do what I do!
Just tell yourself, Duckie,
you’re really quite lucky!
Some people are much more…
oh, ever so much more…
oh, muchly much-much more
unlucky than you!”

“I meant what I said and I said what I meant.”

“You are you and that is true, there’s no one in the world who’s you-er than you.”

“Why fit in when you were born to stand out?”

“It’s not about what it is, it’s about what it can become.”

“It is better to know how to learn than to know.”

“The more you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.”

Dr Seuss

Responses

  1. When my kids were little (not that long ago), we read “Did I Ever Tell You How Lucky You Are” about a zillion times. I recognized the verse right away – you brought back a very nice memory for me, thank you. 🙂

    As a parent, I think it is important to teach children to reflect, especially these days, when the world around them moves so fast. It’s nice to know there are teachers who think it’s important too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

